How many bones are on a pool table at the start of a game?

There are fifteen pool balls plus the cue ball on the table in a regular game of billiards. The slang term bones was in reference to the fact that older pool balls were made from ivory. Since ivory is now illegal they are made of a very hard and durable plastic resin.