What's the difference between a coup and a sedan?

The actual difference has to do with size. A coupe is defined as a car with less than 33 cubic feet of interior space, according to the Society of Automotive Engineers. Any car with 33 or more cubic feet of interior volume is considered to be a sedan, regardless of the door count.