What is mister peabody and sherman?

As part of the Rocky and Bullwinkle universe, "Peabody's Improbable History" featured a genius talking dog named Mister Peabody who has a pet boy named Sherman. Peabody and Sherman use Peabody's "WABAC machine" to go back in time to discover the real story behind historical events.