Why do ostriches have wings if they can't fly?

Their wings are vestigial. It means that a distant ancestor was able to fly, but ostriches lost the ability to fly during their evolutionary development in favor of rapid running. They are ground dwelling birds much like kiwis, road runners, prairie chickens, emus, cassowaries, etc.