Is ice cream a solid liquid or gas?

When matter is sufficiently cooled it usually goes from a gas to a liquid to a solid. Making ice cream is a change of state from a liquid (liquid mixture of cream and sugar) to a solid (ice cream) due to cooling from the ice and salt.