What was swiss air flight one eleven?

Swissair flight 111 was a flight from JFK airport in New York to Cointrin airport in Geneva Switzerland on September 2, 1998. Just over an hour into the flight, the pilot declared an emergency due to smoke in the cockpit. The plane crashed into the Atlantic, killing all 229 passengers and crew.