Can dogs hallucinate?

Signs of hallucination can occur in dogs when they're struggling with epilepsy or seizures. Hallucinations are often a precursor to epilepsy, so in a way, the cause of hallucinations are a warning sign of what's to come. But hallucinations can also be result of a toxic food that your dog has eaten.