Why did the u. s. go to war in vietnam?

The United States supplied military advisors to South Vietnam as North Vietnam, backed by China, began to invade it. Under Presidents Kennedy and Johnson, U.S. military presence increased and transitioned to overt war, to prevent the domino-like fall of all southeast Asia to communism.