Do you know what paint can mold?

Any paint or painted surface can ‘mold’ or grow mold/ mildew in certain conditions. A can of Latex paint, sealed properly and kept in cool, dry conditions should last for up to ten years. Once a container of paint has been opened, however, bacteria and mold can multiply much more easily.

---

Painting over mold may cover up the dark patches where the mold is growing, but it will not eliminate the problem. Mold is a fungus that will thrive where there's enough moisture to encourage its growth. .