What kind of noise does a blue whale make?

Blue whales mostly emit very loud, highly structured, repetitive low-frequency rumbling sounds that can travel for many miles underwater. These songs may be used for communicating with other blue whales, especially in order to attract and find mates.

---

Blue whales make different sounds, depending on what they are doing. They make sounds to communicate, locate food and find each other. The noises that Blue whales make are a mix of grunts, pulses, groans and moans, that are typically in the 15-40 Hz range, often below the threshold of human hearing.