Is a snickerdoodle a sugar cookie?

A snickerdoodle is a type of cookie made with butter or oil, sugar, and flour, rolled in cinnamon sugar. Snickerdoodles are often referred to as "sugar cookies". However, traditional sugar cookies are often rolled in white sugar whereas snickerdoodles are rolled in a mixture of sugar and cinnamon.