What is an f. b. i. profiler?

law enforcement officials who specialize in forming theories to build profiles of unidentified criminals at large, especially serial killers. Profilers may predict the age range, sex, race, marital status and occupation of an unknown predator, helping police to narrow their search for a suspect.