Who created cornbread?

What we call cornbread today, puffy and leavened with egg, was corn pone. It originated with British colonists who adapted their baking to meal ground from white corn. But it wasn't sweet. Most people in the South, from white farmers to slaves, made multiple forms of cornmeal breads.