Can you use chocolate sauce for a frosting?

Depends,if once cool the chocolate sauce hardens then you can use a whip attachment on a stand mixer and whip into a frosting.

---

you can, but don't add a lot -- The powdered sugar and butter frosting will need to be a consistency that will spread without running, so add just a LITTLE chocolate syrup at a time to the frosting until you have a spreadable frosting. If it gets too runny, just add a little more powdered sugar