How do you know if spaghetti squash is ready?

For harvesting, the plant and stem should be dry and brown. Winter squash is ripe when the skin looks dull. For cooking the squash is done when a fork can easily be inserted into its flesh and the flesh shredded into spaghetti-like strands.