What comes out of a fire extinguisher?

Handheld extinguishers are pressurized with nitrogen or carbon dioxide to shoot a stream of agent to the fire. The active material may be a powder such as sodium bicarbonate, liquid water, an evaporating fluorocarbon, or the propelling agent itself.