What was the longest game in n. h. l. history?

The longest NHL game went to six overtimes. That was in the 1936 Stanley Cup finals. Mud Bruneteau's goal gave the Detroit Red Wings a 1-0 victory over the Montreal Maroons. the game lasted 3 hours, 37 minutes, and 14 seconds.

---

On March 24, 1936, Detroit beat the Montreal Maroons 1 to 0 in the sixth overtime period, after 116 minutes thirty seconds of overtime.