What's the candyman movie about?

Candyman (1992) starring Virginia Madsen and Tony Todd The Candyman, a murderous soul with a hook for a hand, is accidentally summoned to reality by a skeptic grad student researching the monster's myth. A sequel was released in 2021 starring Yahya Abdul-Mateen II