What's the biggest bird of all time?

The largest bird in the fossil record may be the extinct elephant bird (Vorombe) of Madagascar, whose closest living relative is the kiwi. Elephant birds exceeded 3 m (9.8 ft) in height, weighed over 500 kg (1,100 lb) and are estimated to have become extinct approximately 1,000 years ago.