What was chip hailstone in jail for?

Hailstone was charged twice with Perjury and twice of making false statements to the police officers in the Second Judicial Court in Kotzebue. As a punishment, the 'Life Below Zero' Star Chip Hailstone was sentenced to the imprisonment.