What do you do when a baby is crying?

Pick it up and hold it upright on your shoulder. Check if it has a dirty diaper. Make sure the baby is not hungry, thirsty, too cold or too hot, and doesn't have anything hurting it, like a scratchy tag or too-tight socks. Pat it on the back and get it to burp, a lot. If nothing works, call a doctor