Are sweet potatoes in the a. m.'s the same thing?

Sweet potatoes have thin, smooth skin and orange or white flesh. Yams have rough, dark skin with an almost hairy texture, and the flesh inside is often white or purple. Sweet potatoes are flavorful and moist while yams are often starchy and dry.