Is decision making hyphenated?

Typically, the phrase is hyphenated when used as an adjective. For example, "Sherry did not participate in the decision-making process." However, it is acceptable to use hyphenated or non-hyphenated phrase if it is used as a noun. For example, "Sherry did not participate in the decision making."