Does the moon rotate on its axis?

The moon does not. That is why we never saw the back side (called the dark side) of the moon until the Apollo missions orbited the moon.

---

Yes, the Moon rotates on its axis once every 27.3 days, with respect to the distant stars. However, because the Moon is tidally locked with Earth, and its orbital period is equal to its rotation period, to an observer on earth the Moon may not appear to be rotating.