How far do you have to go to get to space?

The exosphere extends out to 10000 km, however the ISS orbits in the ionosphere at 320-380 km above the Earth's surface. At that altitude it still experiences friction from the atmosphere so it needs to be boosted from time to time to prevent it from falling back to earth.