How much water do you need to cook a half a cup of rice?

It depends on the type of rice. For long grain rice, you would use twice as much water as rice. When cooking rice in a rice cooker, the general rule of thumb is to start with 1 cup of water per cup of dry rice. Therefore, for 1/2 cup of dry rice, you would need to add 1/2 cup of water.