What is the definition of a cardigan?

A cardigan is a type of sweater that has a front opening with buttons or a zipper. It is typically made of knit material and is worn as a top layer over shirts or dresses. They come in a variety of lengths, from cropped to hip-length or longer, and can be worn for both casual and formal occasions.