What is a chalupa?

A chalupa is a Mexican dish made by filling a deep-fried corn-based dough with meat, beans, and vegetables.

---

Traditional chalupas, as found in Cholula, Puebla, are small, thick, boat-shaped fried masa (corn dough) topped with salsa, cheese and shredded lettuce. Reional variations may add shredded chicken, pork, chopped onion, chipotle pepper, red salsa, and/or green salsa.