Are there thunderstorms on mars?

Martian dust storms can kick up fine particles in the atmosphere around which clouds can form. These clouds can form very high up, up to 100 km (62 mi) above the planet. The first images of Mars sent by Mariner 4 showed visible clouds in Mars' upper atmosphere.