What's the difference between a common wealth and a state?

Four US states call themselves "commonwealths". The distinction is in name alone. Commonwealths are just like any other state in their politics and laws, and there is no difference in their relationship to the nation as a whole. So, there is no difference between a 'state' and a 'commonwealth'.