What is the brightest light in the universe?

The brightest light in the universe is the sun.

---

A violent explosion in a galaxy seven billion light-years away has broken the record for the brightest source of high-energy light in the Universe. The gamma ray burst (GRB), now known as GRB 190114C, was detected on 14 January 2019.