What happened to the uss arizona in pearl harbor?

On 7 December 1941, the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor, and the USS Arizona was hit by several air-dropped armor-piercing bombs. One detonated an explosive-filled magazine, sinking the battleship and killing 1,177 of its officers and crewmen.