What's the difference between baking chocolate and regular chocolate?

The difference between baking chocolate and chocolate candy is that baking chocolate is unsweetened chocolate. That means it's 100 percent chocolate liquor (aka processed and ground cocoa beans) without any added sugar or flavoring. The chocolate you eat as candy has sugar in it and is sweet.