Do you need a permit to climb mount everest?

All foreign climbers are required to obtain a permit that allows a mountaineer to climb Everest.

---

Yes. To climb Mount Everest you need the permit from the Tibet Tourism Bureau. Every foreign traveler needs to apply for at least three permits to visit the mount Everest base camp. Why? Because the international border between China and Nepal runs across the precise summit point of mount Everest.