Do hummingbirds hibernate?

Hummingbirds do not hibernate. In cold weather, hummingbird bodies enter into a nighttime energy-conservation state called “torpor.” This is a deep sleep where the bird’s body temperature plunges downward. At sunrise, the hummingbirds awake, warming back up to their normal body temperature.