What's the difference between a grinder and a hoagie?

A traditional "hoagie" is a submarine sandwich featuring Italian meats such as ham,salami, & prosciutto. A grinder is similar to the traditional hoagie & contains the same central ingredients. The variation is that grinders are often topped w/ roasted red peppers or adorned w/ mayonnaise.