What is the zest of an orange?

Orange zest is made from the top layer of an orange's peel. It contains the fruit's oils and adds a bright, citrus flavor to a dish or recipe. There are several kitchen utensils you can use to zest an orange, including a grater, microplane, vegetable peeler, or knife.