What is the difference between potatoes and organic potatoes?

Regular potatoes that are grown above ground are sprayed with pesticides, & the soil they're grown in is treated with fungicide. By buying organic varieties, you avoid both these threats. In case you can't find organic potatoes, try sweet potatoes; they are usually grown with less pesticides overall