What is the significance of the declaration of independence?

The Declaration of Independence signifies some of the principles and ideas of the founding fathers which the government of the United States follows today.

---

The Declaration of Independence is the document which tells Great Britain and the world that The United States considers itself an independent country and explains the reasons behind taking this action.