When do you harvest broccoli?

Harvest the main broccoli head when it stops growing. You'll know broccoli heads are ready when they're deep green with small, tightly packed buds. Harvest broccoli right away if it starts to flower or turn yellow. Side shoots will continue growing after the main head is harvested.