What are the benefits to eating?

Why do we eat food? Just as a power station requires gas or coal to power its turbines and generate energy, so we need fuel in the form of food – to power our continued existence. The foods we eat provide us with a range of nutrients: vitamins, minerals, water, fat, carbohydrates, fibre, and protein