Are red heads with blue eyes rare?

Red hair is associated with the gene MC1R, a recessive and somewhat rare gene that occurs in only about 2 percent of the world's population, according to the National Institutes of Health. ... Rarest of all are redheads with blue eyes. The majority have brown eyes or hazel or green shades.