Why is cable so expensive?

Cable service can be relatively expensive because the companies providing them will do what they have to do to profit from them.

---

Cable television tends to be expensive because there is virtually no competition within each provider's market. You have no choice, you accept the one cable company or you don't get cable. Satellite TV may be available, but is not considered as reliable and is not always cost effective.