Why do people stand for the hallelujah chorus?

The Hallelujah Chorus is a section of George Fredrick Handel's Messiah. Supposedly during the London premier of the Messiah King George II was so moved when hearing The Hallelujah chorus that he stood up. Then, everyone else in the theater followed so as not to offend him. This started the tradition