What were the world wars?

World War 1 which lasted from Jul 28, 1914 to Nov 11, 1918, and World War 2 which lasted from Sep 1, 1939 to Sep 2, 1945, involved the majority of Europe and The Americas. They both ended in the defeat of Germany.