How do you know if you're hydrated?

Three quick tests for hydration are: Are you thirsty? Thirst always indicates dehydration. How yellow is your urine? The darker it is, the less hydrated you are. Finally, pinch a small piece of skin on the back of your hand. The quicker it returns to normal, the better hydrated you are.