Can cats get gingivitis?

Diseases of the teeth and gums are common in cats. ... In many cases, dental disease causes a cat to stop eating, which leads to a variety of health problems. Gingivitis. Gingivitis is a condition in which the gums around the teeth become inflamed (red, swollen, and painful).