What does close but no cigar mean?

In the 1920s, fairs and carnivals would hand out cigars to the adult prize winners. Therefore, if you didn't win a prize, the barker might say "close, but no cigar," meaning you just missed the prize. Nowadays, it means any circumstance where you almost made your goal but missed by a little bit.