When were machine guns banned?

The Firearm Owners' Protection Act also amended the GCA to prohibit the transfer or possession of machine guns. Exceptions were made for transfers of machine guns to, or possession of machine guns by, government agencies, and those lawfully possessed before the effective date, May 19th 1986.