Has a woman ever been knighted?

Although true female knighthood is rare in modern times (instead granting them "Dame" status, which is similar, but not equivalent to the knightly "Sir"), orders of knighthood, such as the Order of the Garter and the Order of the Star, have had females hold the status of knight.